In a surprising turn of events, 18 Members of Parliament (MPs) from the Majority Caucus of the ruling New Patriotic Party (NPP) have given strongest indication that they will not be seeking reelection in the next parliamentary term in 2024.

This voluntary exit has generated significant speculation and has sparked discussions about the future of the NPP in the coming years.

Among the notable MPs who will be bowing out are Kyei Mensah Bonsu (Suame), Joe Osei Owusu (Bekwai), Atta Akyea (Abuakwa South), Joe Ghartey (Essikado Ketan), and Ken Agyapong (Assin Central). These individuals have been prominent figures within the NPP government and their departure will undoubtedly create a void in the party’s leadership and parliamentary representation.

Other MPs who have made the decision to step down include Dan Botwe (Okere), Kwasi Amoako-Atta (Atiwa West), Dr. Kwaku Afriyie (Sefwi Wiaso), and Emmanuel Marfo (Oforikrom). Additionally, Benito Owusu-Bio (Atwima Nwabiagya), Carlos Ahenkora (Tema West), Nana Kwasi Adjei Boateng (New Juabeng North), William Owuraku Aidoo (Afigya Kwabre South), Johnson Adu (Ahafo Ano South West), Francis Manu-Adabor (Ahafo Ano South-East), Suleman Sanid (Ahafo Ano North), Kojo Kum (Ahanta West), and Francisca Oteng (Kwabre East) are among those who have chosen not to seek reelection.

The reasons behind their decision remain unclear, with some speculating that the MPs may be looking to retire from politics altogether, pursue other professional opportunities, or take a break from the demanding nature of parliamentary life. It is also possible that internal dynamics within the NPP or personal considerations have played a role in their decision-making process.

The departure of these 18 MPs will undoubtedly have a significant impact on the NPP’s future prospects. Not only will the party need to fill these vacant seats, but they will also need to ensure there is a smooth transition of leadership within their ranks. The loss of experienced and influential figures within the party could potentially weaken their standing and require them to restructure their strategies in preparation for the upcoming elections.

As the NPP prepares for the 2024 parliamentary elections, the voluntary exit of these 18 MPs will be one of the key narratives to watch closely. Their decision to step down raises important questions about the party’s direction, succession planning, and ability to maintain their political dominance in the years to come.

Leave a comment