Parliament has unanimously approved the nomination of three Court of Appeal Judges by President Akufo-Addo to join the Supreme Court.

The approved judges are Justices Henry Anthony Kwofie, Yaw Darko Asare, and Adjei-Frimpong. Members of Parliament from both the Minority and Majority sides gave their unanimous consent.

The three nominees underwent a vetting process by the Appointments Committee of Parliament on December 20. Subsequently, they were recommended for approval during the plenary session.

Meanwhile, Justice Yaw Darko Asare spoke extensively about the importance of accountability in the Judiciary and acknowledged the need to address the public perception of the court system.

Justice Adjei-Frimpong, on the other hand, expressed his commitment to upholding the rule of law and ensuring that justice is served for all Ghanaians. He also emphasized the need for the court system to be accessible to all citizens, regardless of their socio-economic backgrounds.

Speaking after the approval of the nominees, the Speaker of Parliament, Alban Bagbin, commended President Akufo-Addo for the nominations and praised the three judges for their impressive qualifications and experience. He also expressed confidence that they would serve Ghana with distinction and uphold the integrity of the highest court of the land.

The Supreme Court is Ghana’s highest court, with appellate jurisdiction in all matters of law and constitutional interpretation. The court has taken on several high-profile cases in recent years, including the 2020 presidential election petition.

Leave a comment