In a move to avoid a repeat of members breaking away from the New Patriotic Party (NPP) following the presidential primaries, the party has asked all four aspirants to sign a stringent legal commitment. This means that Kennedy Agyapong, Dr. Mahamudu Bawumia, Addai Nimoh, and Dr. Afriyie Akoto cannot resign from the party if any of them should lose the elections. This action stems from the precedent set by Alan Kyerematen, who resigned from the party and established a new movement after coming in third in the super delegates elections. Addressing the press at the Alisa Hotel on Thursday, November 4, the party’s General Secretary, Justin Kodua Frimpong said the undertaking will be enforced. “The New Patriotic Party today has had a very successful meeting involving all the major stakeholders in the party including President Akufo-Addo and former President Kufour.” “At the meeting, all four aspirants were made to sign an undertaking to the effect that they would not resign from the party should they not win the elections. They have also signed an undertaking to support the winner of the party to win the 2024 main elections", Mr Kodua said. Mr. Kyerematen announced his resignation from the party on Monday, September 25, 2023, and his intention to contest the 2024 polls as an independent presidential candidate in Accra. In his resignation address at the Mövenpick Ambassador Hotel, he alleged that the NPP’s special delegates conference was skewed to favour one specific candidate, whom he failed to mention. However, in response, the NPP issued a statement signed by its General Secretary, Justin Kodua Frimpong, saying that it would address all issues raised by Mr. Kyerematen and announce a way forward.