The Sports Writers Association of Ghana (SWAG) on Monday inaugurated nine newly-elected executives to lead the organisation for the 2023-2027 term.

The swearing-in ceremony took place at the Ministry of Youth and Sports Conference Room in Accra.

Kwabena Yeboah, a seasoned sports journalist, was sworn in as the newly elected President, marking the commencement of his tenure. Yeboah, who has previously served eight illustrious years as the President of SWAG, continues his dedicated service to the association.

The newly elected executives include Evelyn Nsiah Asare, who makes history as the first female Vice President. Other members of the executive team are Charles Osei Asibey (General Secretary), Ken Odeng (Assistant General Secretary), Owuraku Nsiah (Treasurer), Mavis Amanor (Women’s Commissioner), and executive members Ohene Bampoe Brenya, Franklyn Anane Gyimah, and Tilda Eliman Acolor.

During the ceremony, Albert Kwabena Dwomfuor, President of the Ghana Journalist Association (GJA), commended SWAG for its past achievements and urged the association to continue its efforts in maintaining professionalism. Dwomfuor emphasized the importance of weeding out unprofessional characters from the association.

Kwabena Yeboah, entering his third term as SWAG President, took the opportunity to appeal to the Ministry of Youth and Sports to urgently address the hosting facilities for the upcoming All Africa Games. With limited time remaining to complete preparations, Yeboah stressed the importance of timely attention to ensure a successful event.

Leave a comment